This is not the future my mother warned me about.

Important things:

  • Winter food
  • Terminator: Salvation

So, winter food is a super important part of making winter livable through, bearable. Adrian Chiles always says ‘have a bearable week’ in his sign off thing on MOTD2, and now every time I hear the word it reminds me of him, could be worse I suppose, but it’s still a bit odd, yo.

The main winter things I pride myself on doing well are soups (which often turn out more like stews, which are many cookiesamazing) and cookies (pictured). I did make some pretty fantastic chocolate chip gingerbread one time as well, mind. I’ll not bother writing out a recipe for stew because everyone knows how to make stew, it’s like ‘put tasty things in pot, stir, cook well’, but I will put this one for cookies here mainly because it took me a little time and effort to translate it from weird American measurements, improve it, think of the glaze and all that. Also because it is ace, being really really easy to do and yielding damn fine results which are highly praised by all who munch them (lots of people, I took the last two batches to a seasonal tea-party the other day, and previous ones have measured up to the exacting treat-eating standards of both Dollface and P).

Cinnamon or ginger cookies

  • 220g muscovado sugar
  • 110g butter (I always use salted as my local corner shop doesn’t have the fancy stuff)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2tsp ground cinnamon OR ginger
  • 190g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Cream butter and sugar in a big mixing bowl, then beat in egg with vanilla. Combine dry ingredients and add to the buttery mix, blending everything together well; you should get a soft, droppable dough.

Cover and leave the mixture in the fridge or freezer overnight – you can happily keep it in the freezer for a week or two, whatever suits you. Apparently there are reasons of Science! why this makes the finished cookies so good, but I’m a busy woman. When you’re ready:

Preheat oven to 180°C. Shape mixture into rounds, roughly something like 3-4cm across and 5mm thick, and lay them on a greased baking tray or two. They spread out more widthways, so give them a little space. I get about 18-24 from these quantities, as a guide. Bake for about 10 minutes.

If you want to do a glaze, this one is good:

  • some icing sugar
  • some more ground cinnamon OR ginger
  • some Courvoisier OR Morgan’s Spiced OR dark rum OR Cointreau. OR lemon juice.

Mix these in a bowl so you get a quite thick, spreadable liquid. Paint sparingly over the tops of the cookies, with a pastry brush, while they are cooling – best time seems to be when they’re warm to the touch, but not finger-burningly hot. My mum adds that you could use lemon juice if you don’t want it to be too super-sweet. She taught me pretty much everything I know about cookies, so respect to her.

Well, that’s enough of that, hope you like them. While they are in the oven, you could totally do worse than watching the trailer for Terminator: Salvation! After the debacle that was Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines I think it would be fair to say I didn’t exactly have high hopes for this once-mighty cinematic institution. But dudes, this looks like it might just be a recipe for total awesomeness…

Total awesomeness

  • Killer robots
  • Christian Bale
  • Big explosions

Combine all ingredients thoroughly; win.

To be fair, even if it does turn out to suck, Darling has just bought the DVD of The Dark Knight so I could always console myself by just watching that about fifty times instead. No joking.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

